20140607: Johnson Loop and Kloosifier (Kootenays)

The Mountains Shall Bring Peace to the People, says the welcome sign to Radium, BC

I’m here because my mom is bottling wine today and I wanted to join her for the road trip and have a run in the Kootenay National Park. Last time I was here was for Vermilion Peak (posted here) and I’ve done some ice climbing at Haffner. Today I’m doing something much more tame.

Crazy Soles, the local running store in Invermere and the hotbed of running in this area, recommended the Johnson and Kloosifier trails that runs along the Toby Creek Canyon. Johnson is 11k; Kloosifier 8.5k. I pick up a map at the store, get dropped off at the trailhead at Lillian Lake (but will have to run back down to Invermere to meet up with mom) and with my little picnic of egg sandwich and honeyed jasmine tea – thanks mom!!! – I set off.

Flowy trails maintained by the Columbia Valley Cycling Association.
Flowy trails maintained by the Columbia Valley Cycling Association.

Toby Canyon
Toby Canyon. The trail follows the plateau for a while.

Someone else loves heart-shaped rocks as much as I do!
Someone else loves heart-shaped rocks as much as I do!
The hoodoo formations
The hoodoo formations
Not my photo,
Not my photo, http://radbike.ca/2012/10/johnson-loop-and-kloosifer-invermere-bc/
A day full of wildlife along the highway.
A day full of wildlife along the highway. Deer, sheep, 4 black bears and one grizzly.
Playing the tourist on the way home, stopping at viewpoints of Vermilion Lakes and Mt. Rundle
Playing the tourist on the way home, stopping at viewpoints of Vermilion Lakes and Mt. Rundle

A total recommend!

Posted in Run

Leave a Reply

