20141005: South Molar Pass (Banff, Icefields Parkway area)

South Molar pass from Mosquito Creek… I was intending to head to North Molar and beyond but sleeping in won out other desires that morning. I got to the trailhead at around 11am and blasted through the creek trail to Mosquito campground. Despite the pace, I was going slower than I needed to; I was a bit tired and the ground was mucky from the frost melt – finally in a sigh of relief I decided to do South pass instead and just take my time to enjoy a shorter day.

Enjoy I did. I had the valley totally to myself and spent a glorious hour exploring around the pass. It would’ve seemed a dream but for the little pikas calling out at me to remind me of my bodily presence. Kind of sweet really, to be noticed in such a vast environment and heralded this way.

Pulled aside on the road to snap this pic from the 93 north
Pulled aside on the road to snap this pic from the 93 north
Mosquito creek, which the trail follows. Little stream crossings on planks were fun
Mosquito creek, which the trail follows. Little stream crossings on planks were fun

Noseeum mountain
Noseeum mountain

wet boggy meadow; it would be fantastic to return in the summer to see the wildflowers
wet boggy meadow; it would be fantastic to return in the summer to see the wildflowers

the pass
the pass

the pass stretches on for a while; here's the other side and an alpine lake
the pass stretches on for a while; here’s the other side and an alpine lake

Looking down into mosquito creek valley
Looking down into mosquito creek valley

Leave a Reply

