20141018: North Molar Pass (Banff, Icefields Parkway) and Little Beehive (Lake Louise)

Thought I’d try the North Molar pass since I did the South a couple weeks ago. It was supposed to be a nice day! It started raining around 7:30 and continued intermittently all day. I headed home early and as I drove out the Icefields Parkway, the sun looked so gorgeous over on the Divide. So, got myself a cup of tea and a pastry at the Lake Louise Chateau and headed up the Little Beehive loop (unfortunately Moraine Lake road is closed for the season) to warm up and use up the rest of the day.

Molar Pass junction
Molar Pass junction 7.5km into the trail. Left for North, Right for South
Marmot
Marmots amble along on little inverted paws and remind me of furry porcupines
The meadows
The wet meadows, Molar Mountain & Molar Glacier behind
heavy snow, looking down to treeline
heavy snow, looking down to treeline
Heading towards the pass
Heading towards the North Molar pass
Looking down
Looking down
Where I turned around
Where I turned around; what I could see looked amazing. But that will be for another day.
Ran into a couple guys as I headed back - they had somewhat better conditions and got a half hour or so of sun. Ours were the only footprints today.
Ran into a couple guys as I headed back – they had somewhat better conditions and got a half hour or so of sun. Ours were the only footprints today.

Lake Louise lakeshore trails… Every once in a while I’m reminded why this is a world-class attraction. Today was one of those days. Normally I find it a bit congested, a bit claustrophobic. But I concede, yes, the area really is a must-do. The Lake was milky icy blue and framed by snowy peaks.

As I drove out I discovered the sun had been hanging out on the Divide. So I did Little Beehive from Lake Louise - here, a view of Molar Mountain and beyond from Little Beehive.
As I drove out I discovered the sun had been hanging out on the Divide. So I did Little Beehive from Lake Louise – here, a view of Molar Mountain and beyond from Little Beehive.
Lake Louise
Lake Louise
Lake Agnes
Lake Agnes
Leave a Reply

